The Psychology Of A Strong Handshake

darkdan

Long time no see, I know, I slack off on visiting the board.

Ever since I started training my grip, I noticed something, I run into the wet noodle handshake a lot less often now. As a matter of fact, I can't remember the last time someone gave me a dead palm except women (no offense). When I began training my grip and shaking hands, I wanted to avoid being that guy. You know the one, he thinks every handshake is a perfect time to show he's an alpha male and try to crush everyone's hands when he first meets someone. Goes out of his way to demonstrate he has a strong grip (or thinks he has a strong grip).

While studying the brain, I came across the section on the cerebellum. The cerebellum is responsible for coordination, motor control, and a lot of sensory input. The cerebellum does something else interesting. The cerebellum receives the signals to tell the body to move, it then uses those to send inhibitory signals to other regions in the brain to ignore the feeling of the movement. This way you ignore a lot of sensation of things like air movement on your arm hairs, the feeling of your clothes moving. Those sorts of things. It removes much of the expected sensory data so we don't drive ourselves nuts paying attention to everything. This is also why most people can't tickle themselves with their hands.

Daniel Wolpert and his colleagues at University College, London, did an interesting experiment. When two people are given the same instructions to push on the other persons hand with the same amount of force the other person used (match force) the force would escalate. Every time it was their turn, they'd push harder. Now since they didn't know the other person's instructions, when asked, they thought the other person was told to always double the force. Back and forth every time the pushing got harder!