2009 January - 2008 In Review - climber511

climber511

2008 in Review

I've done this every year for a few years now - I suppose I should do it again.

This year I turned 60 years old. I got my first set of weights in 1959 – This year I start on my 50th year of working out with weights, doing various sports etc. I like to think I’m still learning new things now and then.

I worked out or did something physical anyway 201 times this year with various routines. Everything from a walk with my wife to a 5 minute grip workout to a 2 hour full body session to a contest or a day rock climbing is included in this number. Some of those I wouldn’t classify as much of anything really and some were pretty good workouts.

I bent a few Wrenches this year and did a good bit of scrolling and long bar bending – a lot of fun and a good total body workout with the bigger bars. I pretty much quit short bending except for reverse in preparation for and in contests – I did bend a 505# bar at GGC this year reverse. I missed my goal of doing my Dinnie Stone Trainers – I got 687# but missed the 734# that the actual stones in Scotland weigh. I did a gym lift Zercher of 352# - over the IAWA record for my age and weight – something I had done before. One hand DL (no hook) PR of 265#, not that great but hey, a PR is a PR. I closed a 182# gripper in a choker, pinched 231# in training and 226# in a contest. I actually won my class in a Grip Contest this year at Gripmas and finished 3rd overall there – my best contest performance ever. I broke the Masters record listed on David Horne’s site in the Weaver Stick. I got 3 25s, 5 -10s, and 2 – 45s on video finally – I don’t do video – I have to wait until someone comes around that does. I’m tied for 7th place on the all time Euro Pinch – I’ve wanted to get into the top ten ever since we started keeping the list - not bad for a young man like myself I think.