What should a grip newbie get ?

Guest Dime

Hey!

i'm 19, and i've always had a slightly below average grip strength (very small wrists too). In addition, i've broken about 3 of my fingers from playing different sports (bummer because i also play guitar). I also seem to keep re-injuring these fingers. Anyhow, christmas is coming up, and i'm hoping to get some grip devices to strengthen my grip. My aim is not to close the #3 CoC, just to have grip strength that is impressive to the average person. I was thinking of getting the following:

1. Ivanko super gripper (seems more versatile than the CoC grippers).

2. Master of hand strength book.

3. Something for the fingers (that's not too expensive). I've seen these Gripmasters in stores,  they seem to exercise each finger individually...any good ?  

Suggestions are welcomed.

Hi Dime. I'm new to this myself. Even though I don't have much experience, I will tell you to save your money on the Gripmaster from the store. It takes very little strength to push down on. Definately get John Brookfield's MOHS. I don't have the Ivanko but if money is not a question, then get the #1, #2 grippers from Iron Mind. If possible also plate loaded grip machine. These I feel will put you on track to your goal for grip strength that will be impressive to the average person. For finger strength, how about rim holds with plate weights  or 1 finger muscle outs with light weight. Good luck. Also read all the old posts from the beginning. Do so on all the boards. They are a wealth of information from alot of the who's who of grip strength.