A Thumb Injury That Wont Heal

Raadster

So ive been levering for like 2-3 months now and for the first month of my training i also included block work. Now i dont have blobs but I use a 2" by 4" block of wood connected to a sawn off bar which i can load weight onto.

Now i dont grip the block of wood the conventional way that ive seen people grip blobs in videos, in the videos ive noticed that people get the blob as deep in the hand as possible so that they are using the mojority of the surface area of their fingers and thumb to grip the weight. Now i originally did this with my block setup but i wasnt feeling any real strain on my hands even on like 20kg.

I only grip my block setup using the tips of my fingers and thumb, about the same surface area you would use when doing fingertip pushups, this ripped my hands to shreds and i got a awesome pump. My hands reacted really well to the training and veins and what not were popping out more and more after every session, and the thickness of my hand was taking off. Then when i went to do another session i felt mid way through the workout as if little strings in my thumb were tearing, as if snapping 1 by 1.

Now this tearing feeling is in the section of the thumb after the fat turkey leg part, between the first and second joint. To elaborate more lets say your thumbnail starts off your thumb and then going back towards your palm you then come to your first joint of the thumb, so inbetween the first join and second joint we have the straight thin part of the thumb and then after the second joint we have the fat turkey leg section.