Entertainment with hand strength

bender

Hey everybody, does any one else have any interesting stories about grip strength and using it to entertain friends, co-workers and strangers?  I know Tom Black mentioned the pile of bent objects on his desk, so he(you) must have some good stories.  

Personally, I work as an executive officer in a Basic Training company for the Army, and at every chance, I entertain the scared little privates who are stationed at guard duty out side of our headquarters.  I step out side and hand them a few 60d “easy” timber ties, some 3.5” galvanized 20d and 16d nails, and an IronMind yellow bar.  Then, assuming the role of an officer, give them a motivational speech about commitments, goals and the difference between gym strength and functional strength.  Of course it’s done, all while “U-ing” all the nails and leaving each private with a souvenir.

You know, it may be silly, but it blows these young men away; jaws open, stares of disbelief.  Over all, it’s been an incredible experience to have an effect on these new recruits.  Their Drill Sergeants train them hard and yell at them all day long, and then in our off time, I get to have an impact on these kids lives.  Besides, it just makes you feel great. :D

Does anyone else have similar experiences?   If so, please share.

I did a few strength demonstrations for my grade 3 students.

I bent nails, tore decks of cards, curled a chair by the back rest and ...  closed grippers.

In bars, I sometimes perform this little pinch feat. Grab an empty beer bottle by the top with only your thumb and index. Then, hold it horizontal to the floor. Sounds easy but it is VERY difficult. Only me and my stronger than strong friend did it. Everyone else fail ... and drop the bottle on the floor.

Guest CalvinP