Can you grip like a chimp?

Guest Jeff0

Science North in Ontario is currently displaying Jane Goodal's "Discovering Chimpanzees" exhibit.  One of the displays is a kiosk that lets visitors test their grip strength against that of assorted primates.  I live too far to visit, but I'm intensely curious -- how would a CoC's squeeze compare to a gorilla's?  None of the photos I can find feature a readable image of the dial face.

http://www.sciencenorth.on.ca/photoar....ip2.jpg

Oh, and hello - I'm a newcomer and newbie.  I started working on my grip recently just to help with my deadlifting, but became addicted.  :)

Guest DavidHW

Hi Jeff.

I'm not an expert, but I did a little graduate work in primate studies. IIRC, adult male chimps are, on average, about five times stronger pound-for-pound than a man. Adult female chimps are around three times stronger. Adult male chimps in the wild run between 80 and 120 pounds, even heavier in captivity. So even your "Joe Average" chimpanzee in the wild has the strength of a well-conditioned, lean, heavily muscled 500 lb man.

Bottom line, you or I or anyone else -- including the best Strongmen in the world -- would be in a world of trouble in a fight with a chimp. As far as grip goes, I doubt that there's a man alive even 25% as strong as a wild chimp.

Gorillas, which you mention, are even stronger. :-)

David