Grip Newbie Looking For Advice

SteR-

hey guys

I'm kinda new to all this grip training stuff. At the moment I lift for football and I'm interested in improving my crushing strength. As it stands, the only grip work I've ever really done is static db/bb holds for improving my deadlift. I've also thrown in the odd set of plate pinches and barbell forearm curls but I've never really focussed on my grip.

I've just ordered the CoC trainer and #1 gripper. I've had a look at the newbie FAQs etc and from what I understand I have to 'build up a base' before I get started on the heavy stuff. So I was thinking for the next 7 days or so I do 100-200 reps throughout the day with the trainer? is this correct? Atm my crushing strength is kinda pathetic and I can only close the #1 once/twice on each hand.

The thing I'm more concerned with however is how to progress once I've done this first week of getting my joints prepared. I've seen some of the beginner workouts and it involves a fair number of exercises but I don't intend spending an extra half hour or so after workouts on grip. I'm just wondering if there's some sort of compromise I can come to where I can train my crushing strength without having to spend ages working on it.

I was thinking of doing 3x a week but I'm not sure how I should structure reps/sets etc? Any advice?

Ster: first of all many congratalations; u can do 1/2 reps with your coc#1 NOW ...it took me a couple of weeks:-)