Knuckle Weakness And Pain.

LeHoss

Hello all

I'm new to grip training specifically. I had some experience with wrist curls and sandbag training before I became interested in the CoC crushers. I bought a trainer which I could rep for 15 or so when I first opened it up. After I got to 40 reps in each hand, I decided to buy the number 1 and some extensor bands from Ironmind. At first the crusher twisted in my hand too much, making it hard to close so I started to set it closed and hold it for time. This method worked well and after a couple weeks I could control it and close it for a few reps in each hand. Recently I started to break the training into sets to get the overall volume up. Nothing to aggressive I thought, just 5 x 5 in each hand, twice a week. I was also using the extensor bands, and doing kettlebell swings with a pinch grip on a stone, and some finger push ups. My left doesn't have the finishing strength the right does and will refuse to snap the gripper shut during later sets. About six weeks ago I got frustrated with this and just bit down as intensely as I could on the gripper. There was a popping from the base knuckle of my index finger. Since then that finger has been both weak and sore during training. Not so much during the down time. I have rested it for a little over a week twice. I can close the gripper with the left index off the handle but not for many reps. Timed holds using my full hand feel tight and relatively painless once the gripper is closed. Pinching with my left hand has gone down hill and I drop the stone easily. Finger pushups don't seem to affect the knuckle at all. This is frustrating as my right hand continues to get stronger and my hands itch for the training. I was also interested in begining some bending. Do I need to just lay off training my left hand for a while all together? Maybe just eliminate the crushing and pinching? Is there something I should be doing to rehab my base knuckle?

I'm grateful for any suggestions.