Finally Tried Another 5/8 Bar

Tim71

Whoa! I don't have much 5/8 steel right now but I wanted to try a piece to get the feel of it again. I searched through my goodies and found an old 24 inch piece of 5/8 that I had got stuck around 30 degrees on and thought, hey this will work good because I'm not going for a cert but I wanted to really just experiment with all the different styles - and then some.

Well, you top 5/8 benders have my respect! I DID get it bent but I was far from killing it. As probably expected, once I got it down to the final crush it was mine but the mid range is what's tough. I experimented with every body part and then some, knelt down, sit down stood up, on one foot, practically a contortionist at several points while experimenting and was even laying on my back at one point!!! I really need to find a style for the mid part that doesn't feel awkward which was a problem I was having.

Like I said, it was just an experiment and I'm no way proclaiming it an official bend but I may have to get some more steel and give it a good shot and work on a technique that's right for me.

Anybody who can make a piece this short or shorter look easy is just plain strong pure and simple. 21 inches has got to be one super-tough bend.

Great job guys!

Tim

Dang Tim just when I thought I had you beat at something you pull this off!! :D

Great bend buddy, whether you killed it or not that's an AMAZING bend!!!

By the way, have you been training to get that 1/2" x 8" under 5 mins? Any success or updates on training? What about that 3/8" x 8" G8? Just wondering :D

Tim,

Good to see you throwing your hat in the ring in the mid-range zone.

David

Haha you should tell them how easy it was to crush the 22" bend I sent you. How far down did you crush it? Guy's I'm telling you if Tim gets the sweep going good enough he can get it between his legs he could crush some huuuuge stuff on this 5/8". I have no doubt he could crush sub 20" stuff with ease.

Derek,