Bending Calibration Question

opnsysme

At the recent SHGC I bent a 480 pound bar which isn't anything close to what others were bending, in fact it was more like 1/2 . So my question is, if the bar I bent was calibrated at 480 pounds, which means it took 480 pounds to bend in a vise with no wraps etc. What did it take with wraps? Now I know the thickness of wraps plays a huge difference, but I am really curious. I am a horrible bench presser and have average pressing strength in my shoulders, but none of my upper body lifts equals 480. So I am trying to grasp how someone that can't bench say 315 pounds can bend a bar that requires 500lbs or more of force ? I'm assuming the fact that the bars wrapped to 2 plus inches for DO and putting them farther out on the ends drastically reduces the weight required right? Sorry for the ignorance but I am very very new to DO bending and have only mildly worked the DU bending style. And because I suck at DO I lost my 3rd place position in the contest and really need to bring my bending up to current levels. Also along those lines, what muscle groups directly affect the DO bending style?

I think bars are calibrated by holding the bar in place on both ends, then suspending weight in the midle of the bar. . . until it bends to a certain degree ( I think). The actual bend of this calibrated bar is accomplished with less that the calibrated force using the ends of the bar as levers. This is why shorter bars are harder to bend. . . the levers ( bar ends) are shorter. I'm no expert so you can take this with a grain of salt.