A Little Story From Yesterday...

Relayer

I’m still a weak-handed newbie to the grip world, but trying to get stronger.

I began my efforts due to the enormous power I felt when I shook the hand of a fellow in my company. Physically – big thick hands, wrists, and forearms. He never tried to bear down on me, but I could tell he had mucho power.)

Well, I ordered and started working with the CoC Trainer (like I said, my hands are pathetically weak). I’ve moved on to the #1 and have been working diligently for several months on this (along with the T). I got a little overly enthusiastic with that (and possibly some dumbbell curls) and suffered an injury in my upper forearm that has set me back some – still not completely recovered from that. I do 2 sets of about 5-6 reps (#1) with each hand, turn the gripper up-side down and do a couple of sets, then end with holding the gripper closed (or nearly so) for as long as I can (~ 1 min 20 secs).

Anyway, the fellow was in the office yesterday and he tried out my grippers. (Note his strength comes from hard work as a construction laborer several years ago – lots of sledgehammer work, etc – no training or working out). I thought he would get at least 6-10 closes of the #1, but no. He started ripping off 3-4 “closes” that came within about .5” of fully closed, so I told him the ends must touch. He started again and only got 2 full closes (after wasting some energy on those initial “bad closes”. When he tried the hold, he managed 45 seconds with me loudly urging and encouraging him to hold on.

When I did my closes he was pretty surprised.

This was all done in the best of a friendly spirit, of course, but I could see he was a little disappointed in his performance vs mine.