Adhesive Question

EricMilfeld

I have a 2" pipe already attached to a base and I would like to make a loading pin out of it. I'm wanting to try and use a 12" eye hook inserted into the pipe and held in place with some sort of adhesive. I'm going to add a large washer towards the base of the eye hook for additional strength. I've never tried this before, but surely there is some kind of glue that would work, while being inexpensive. I'm wondering about Liquid Nails or concrete crack repair compound or something along those lines that I can purchase at the local hardware store. Any ideas?

The best metal adhesive is called welding :D . But the best glue I have ever used is the epoxy that is used to hold those reflective highway markers into the highway. Years ago - some friends and I glued rocks onto an old railroad bridge made of sandstone - everything else we tried wouldn't hold - this stuff would pull off layers of stone but never let loose once.

Weld it Eric :D

What I did on mine was to use couplers to connect the eyebolt to a bolt to make a longer loading pin. I then just used a nut to hold on the washer.

I posted this before but I made some spare loading pins from PVC pipe, rated eyebolts, and hardened washers. I used Rust-Oleum's plastic paint on the pins. I found that it is easy to clean, resists chips, and stays slick (and looks better than the plain old white PVC pipe!). I found it nice to have a group of loading pins sitting around:

http://homepage.mac.com/biggerfoot/.Pictures/loadingpin.jpg

http://homepage.mac.com/biggerfoot/.Pictures/loadingpin4.jpg

http://homepage.mac.com/biggerfoot/.Pictures/loadingpin2.jpg

http://homepage.mac.com/biggerfoot/.Pictures/loadingpin3.jpg

I also made a couple of loading pins from one inch hardened screws.

They are very simple to make...just drilled and tapped a hole for the eyebolt:

http://homepage.mac.com/biggerfoot/.Pictur...wloadingpin.jpg