Some Coc Questions For The Experts

gripn00b

OK, so I got my first COC in- the "Sport" (Yes, I am a total beginner)

I think I'm pretty undergunned with it as I closed it easily and was able to do 20-30 reps without any real history of grip training (save for recent use of Gripmasters) or substantial effort, so I'll be ordering the #1 and #1.5 next.

Questions:

1) I opened two sores on my hands using it, due to the very aggressive grip surface. Does it diminish my training in any way if I use bandaids on the parts of my fingers that are prone to "wear" when using the COC?

2) Is it of any training advantage for me to keep this particular gripper once I've moved beyond it or is it OK to sell/trade them once you've moved past them? Like, do you guys who regularly close your 2's and 2.5's ever find yourselves going back to your 1's for any reason?

3) I have freakishly small pinky fingers and pretty small thumbs. Does this sort of thing entirely preclude someone from ever getting to the #3 level? (guess I can't post pics)

Thanks for any help. This grip stuff is insanely addictive :rock

Edited by GRIPn00b

Im not an expert put I'l answer 1 and 2 from my own experience.

Bandaids never hold up for me during a workout. Athletic or some electrical tape works great. It hasn't dimished my training at all whenever I've used tape.

I can close a 2.5 but still use my T and #1 for warmups. A gripper you can close easily is always good for warmups.

I doubt your finger is too small that you couldn't close something with a set. If you can close your sport then I think you have big enough fingers to (with work, of course) close the #3, at least with a set. Plus, if need be you can close it with three fingers :) .

Not saying you aren't at a disadvantage, but it isn't impossible.

Your hands will toughen up too. I remember the first few weeks and my hands felt like they were being rubbed raw. I don't even feel it now. You could put athletic tape around the handle like JS27 said.