5x10lb Plates... How Did You Get There?

hab34buy

Okay, so today I was really psyched because I hit a new PR in my pinch training when I deadlifted 5x10s there were hooked together, and I actually repeated this a few times in a row. I've never done that before, so I'm pretty excited. To see how I'd take it, I unhooked the plates (I had them tied together with twine) and gave it a go... and well at least they didn't all hit my foot when they fell :D . So I have a long ways to go before I'm lifting them without the twine hooking them together.

However, I was wondering... how did/does everone else train for getting plates in this way? i.e. what do you think is the best way to progress to where the plates can fall where they may without them actually doing it? Extra weight? Reps with lower number of plates?

Thanks for the input folks!

Okay, so today I was really psyched because I hit a new PR in my pinch training when I deadlifted 5x10s there were hooked together, and I actually repeated this a few times in a row. I've never done that before, so I'm pretty excited. To see how I'd take it, I unhooked the plates (I had them tied together with twine) and gave it a go... and well at least they didn't all hit my foot when they fell :D . So I have a long ways to go before I'm lifting them without the twine hooking them together.

However, I was wondering... how did/does everone else train for getting plates in this way? i.e. what do you think is the best way to progress to where the plates can fall where they may without them actually doing it? Extra weight? Reps with lower number of plates?

Thanks for the input folks!

If your pulling them hooked together your not very far away at all in my experience. just keep doing singles with them hooked together. I used a bar thru them myself until I was strong enough to do it without. you could also do negs with extra weight added and a bar thru.

- Aaron