Levering Question

coc3

i am new at levering, and i was wondering what kind of routine would be good for levering or what site i could go to, to learn more about it. any tips would be appreciated.

Wrist work is of high importance!! And levering is a great exercise for it. Your wrists connect your grip to the rest of the chain (arms, torso) and without the ability to transfer your bodies power to your hands (through wrists) why even have grip strength anyway? (not a serious question) Also strong wrists support our hands structure and allow us to really apply our forearm muscular contractions all the way down to your fingertips.

Get a light sledgehammer, or even better (in my opinion) some sort of plate loadable shaft. I use a 2' piece of 1" wooden dowel, and load it with exercise plates (need collars). Mark the length of the shaft in increments, (mines marked in inches) these markings allow you to have some method to your training. Use enough weight so you have to choke up on the thing a good bit with your weakest movement (probably a front lever) so the thing can be used for all your levering without adjusting it. Front, back, side to side, overhead, etc

I do front levers mostly, and side to side also. For back lever motion, I use mainly a wrist roller, but the bar is also good at really hitting the underside of the forearm.

Dont forget to warm up!!! Lots of tendons and ligaments and small joints and bones to hurt with this one. Its easy to overload your wrists with this so start easy (choke down) and then once you're warm dig right in. You'll find a routine that works for you. Keep it methodical and you'll start inching your way down that bar.

hope this helps

~Steve

I can't add to that great advice at all. Here is the kind of lever routine I'm going to mainly stick to for the foreseeable future: