Any Tips For A Youngster?

younggripper

Basically, I'm 16 and wondering if theres anything to be concerned about if i start trying to build up some grip strength. I started working out recently and I'm in so-so shape now, and yes i did look through the faqs but i was just wondering if there was anything that particulary pertains to doing these exercises at a younger age. I've mastered my cheap plastic-handled grippers and am looking to make a decision on a new gripper. Thanks a tonne :)

welcome to the Board.im no expert but start slow.i Dont know the physiological effects stressing the ligaments and tendons are at your age.probably consult a doctor.members on this board may have a better idea on the effects if any.to start though get a COC T and a #1 am see how that feels.just go slow and easy like any workout.

Young gripper, I wish I had started when I was your age. I agree with the advice to start off slowly, don't try to do too much too quickly. You'll read about some of the amazing feats of strength from many of the members of this board.....and it will make you totally amped up to dive head first into training!! I would say that it's alright to have a long term goal to achieve, such as the #3, the blob, or other feats, but first, I recommend developing a good, general, overall base of fitness and strength with a solid, consistent program of moderate weight training and conditioning.

Then, once you've built up a decent level of strength and "tendon toughness", then, begin to increase and/or specialize on a grip goal you have. Again, don't try to do too much too soon.....doing that could lead to injury. At your age, your tendons don't need to be stressed too much just yet.

Perhaps you could begin by working with the trainer or #1 gripper. Additionally, after your workout, you may want to grab a couple of 10 pound plates, smooth sides out, grip them together with one hand and try to lift them. It's a start.