Is anyone able to close the #3 with perseverance ?

amaury

Hi everyone,

I'm a freshman in the Grip world (received my COC's a week ago and Ivanko a month ago) even if I have practiced weightlifting for some years now (i'm 25). I can only close the #1 but i hope beeing able to close the #2 some day! Since i am not very strong (my PR would certainly make most of you laugh  :) ) i was wondering whether i could dream of closing the #3 one day !?

I'm also deeply impressed by the number of Certified (and famous) COCs on this forum: you guys are a great inspiration!

Thanks.

From France,

Amaury.

Determination is a key factor in closing the 3 or any goal gripper. :)

Welcome to the GripBoard.

Within reason yes. I suggest checking out many, many posts here. One thing I will add. You have to take it as seriously as you would a one-rep max on any big lift. Don't play at it. That said once you've got it you'll be able to do it most days.

#3 yes, #4 no. I think it's like a 900lb deadlift vs a 500lb deadlift. Pretty mmuch anybody can do a 500lb deadlift in their lifetime & that's pretty good, but not everyone will be able to do 800 or 900 or break world records.

Nathan's analogy is a very good one.  Anyone probably can deadlift 500 lbs, but remember, some people will have to work much harder and with more determination to reach that goal.

Guest DavidHW

Thinking of the popular "everyman's" goals set out by Hardgainer for comparison, is it  

300 bench = 400 squat = 500 deadlift = No. 3 gripper?

It might be (assuming of course the powerlifting numbers above are for raw, drug-free lifts). I personally know that I could take nearly any healthy male off the street between the ages of 18-88, train them right, and have them benching 300 in under a year. It's not that hard. Squatting takes a lot of technique, so I'm not as sure about that one. But I bet I could get an average Joe up to a 400 deadlift in a year or so.