I Read The New Im #3 Thread

Hubgeezer

I was in the lobby at the Saddleback Marriott on Saturday, June 3, around 3 hours before the dinner was to begin at the AOBS. Randy Strossen was having Tommy Heslep close a brand new #3. Randy had met me before, and knowing I am a Certified Public Accountant, said something like "let's have a CPA open the package". I just happened to be standing around. I don't know what arrangements/conversations Tommy and Randy had previously.

There were no Trainers or #1's to warm up on, so first I opened a #2 and took it out of the package. I looked at it for the dog leg, and closed it roughly as easily as I normally close a #1. No warmup, no nothing. That caught the eye of a few, and I got so excited that I believed I was personally was going to close the #3 in the next package I was to open, I don't remember what Tommy did with the 2, whether he repped it, singled it, or what.

There was no chalk available either.

An IM credit card was being passed around awkwardly. Tommy/hubgeezer hold it? Randy hold it? You hold it yourself? Stick it in advance, almost touching, close enough, just past the handles, etc, etc. It was a Keystone Cops gripper closing scene. "Wait Mike you didn't use the card", said Randy..."he doesn't use a set" said Son Of Hubgeezer. Like I said, awkwardly passed around. "This is IronMind here, not something else" was said at one point, referring to the card set.

I opened the #3, and took it down to around 1/2 inch 3 times. I was bummed, because I was rested, and the 2 was easy. But, no warmup, no chalk, people gathered around, funny awkward card being inserted, etc, etc. But I thought it was a "hard 3", and the damn handles felt like wax.

Tommy more or less had the same experience, except he took it down to an eighth of an inch. Randy said he would get some chalk. Five or six hours later, I asked Tommy if he had connected with Randy. No, he hadn't, and he did not really see the point.