5"x5/16" Fully Threaded Grade 5

jäpälä

I have this problem of comparing metric bolts to American bolts and I am asking for your advise on it. I have been into bending few weeks now and I am pretty exited about this kind of feats of strength. So to the question at hand: I use the double overhand technique, and my latest PR bend is a 5"x5/16 inch fully threaded grade5 rod. (I use rod because it is cheaper than bolts). I have found a chart to help convert metric bolts info into American bolts:

http://www.boltdepot.com/fastener-informat...rade-Chart.aspx

As you can see from the chart above that metric 8.8 is equivalent with the grade 5, and the rod I bought is 8.8/grade 5 (from a local supplyer). I cant proof that this rod is grade 5 because these rods dont have the head of an bolt, you just have to take my word for it. Im not even going to try and fool myself of thinking that fully threaded would be as tough as a solid bolt with short threading on it, Im a mechanic so I know that. Below I will put a link for the pictures of the piece of the rod I bent.

http://japala.propelli.cop.fi/gripster/pultti2.JPG

http://japala.propelli.cop.fi/gripster/mauser4.JPG

My primary question is that how does this piece of iron compare to the Ironmind nails in toughness, equivalent or close to what nail? I am new to all this bending stuff and I would greatly appreciate your output on this question.

Thank you in advance! :happy

Edited by jäpälä

I would guess just by the looks of it it is all tread Grade 2, now you say it is greade 5 so I will take your word for it. As far as its equivalent, who knows? My suggestion is to PM Eric Milfeld and get his address and send him a sample to calibrate. Also just compare it to other stock you have bent. My experience has been that all thread is a lot easier than other stock at the same solid diameter. with a all thread you are basically bending a piece of thinner steel with a predesignated weak point.

-Sean