Neck Work

TelegraphKey

Not sure where to post this...

I received my IronMind Headstrap the other day, and I'm very very pleased. I didn't believe them at first that other neck straps wouldn't work, but it's definitely true. My first $13 neck strap broke after only 5-6 workouts with about 70 lbs. The IM Hercules Headstrap is rated for well over 1,000 lbs. I am confident it will last me forever.

Do people who do neck work, do the really obvious, simple movements only? Curling the neck back, curling neck forward (like "nodding"), tilting it left & right?

I read about Richard Sorin towing 700 lbs. in a sled with an IM Headstrap. (WOW!) :rock My question is, since I'm just starting out with Neck Work, I should probably hold off on attempting anything like Mr. Sorin's feat, right? :mosher

But wouldn't towing weight behind you with a sled & a neck strap, work approximately the same muscles as Reverse Neck Curls (bending to the front, then lifting the weight by raising the head up & back)?

So what are the main, or other, neck exercises I can or should do with a truly indestructible IM HeadStrap?

And how often do you guys do neck work?

Edited by TelegraphKey

I have done a 300lb neck lift with my IM neck harness.That's a neck lift where you basically keep your neck stiff and squat weight off the ground with the harness on.

It's very sturdy.

Have you done any neck bridges, front neck raises off a bench while holding a plate on your forehead?

The anderson neck roll is also a good one.All these exercises don't require a harness.

I have done a 300lb neck lift with my IM neck harness.That's a neck lift where you basically keep your neck stiff and squat weight off the ground with the harness on.

It's very sturdy.

Have you done any neck bridges, front neck raises off a bench while holding a plate on your forehead?

The anderson neck roll is also a good one.All these exercises don't require a harness.

Steve,