Pinky Length And Grippers?

bdckr

I'm sure that we can all agree that hand size can be an advantage for closing grippers. I’m relatively new to using grippers (end of May this year), but I’ve been wondering about the actual difference hand size makes, and if hand size as it’s usually measured (crease of wrist to tip of middle finger) is significant in itself, or acts as a surrogate for length of hand on the pinky side. This probably isn't going to matter for most people, since the proportion of fingers is pretty close, but for some people with unusually short pinkies, it might.

The more I’ve closed grippers, the more I’ve noticed that my pinky is the most important finger for the last 1/8”, and the more I’ve noticed that it is useless at the beginning of a no set close. If the handle in my palm is positioned properly, my pinky only touches the inside of the other handle, never mind the outside or being able to get any leverage on it. So for NS closes, it’s the other 3 fingers that bring the handle close enough for the pinky, and the pinky that finishes it off.

Of course, other non-gripper grip related feats probably have less to do with pinky length, since the bulk of the strength comes from the middle finger, and in situations aside from girppers, the pinky doesn’t have a mechanical advantage (being further from the spring, so a longer moment arm).

So out of curiosity, I’ve got a few questions that I’m hoping everyone will answer. I don’t promise that I’ll have a chance to do a complete statistical analysis of all the variables (although if I find myself not very busy at work, I might :)), but I’m hoping there to see some obvious trends.

And before anybody starts thread-crapping about how my time would be better spent training instead of over-analyzing things... I know that. I'm just curious. :D

1) Hand size

Crease of wrist to tip of middle finger.

2) Pinky side (PS) hand size

Crease of wrist to tip of pinky.