Beginner Here - Few Questions

Guest OcSnake

Guest OcSnake

Hello Everyone. I'm new to all of this and was looking for a little bit of advice for improving my arm and hand strength. I play Ice Hockey and am mainly working on my grip to improve my wrist and snap shot. I have purchased a CoC Gripper #T and #1. I can completely close the trainer and 'almost' close the #1. I have somewhat small hands (7" from palm to tip of middle finger) and find that to be somewhat of a disadvantage. I also found the checkering to be very sharp and taped it up with some hockey tape. I am looking for some training tips from those of you more experienced than I. Should I use #T and go for high reps? Or what would you do in my situation? Keep in mind that I am doing this for a harder shot. As far as hockey goes, technique is very important for a good shot and I do know and have this. I am now looking for a strength edge. Any other tips on 'any' other excercises would be appreciated... anything, meaning anything that in your opinion would be helpful in my sport as far as shooting goes. Thank you very much.

keep the reps fairly low for strengthening.  also, if you want to stronger wrists you should train them with wrist curls, hammer levering, nail bending, etc.  these will all hammer your wrists and should give you that edge you're lookin for.

When it comes to a big wrist shot or a powerful slap shot, I am part of the game. I don't play hockey anymore (not in a league) but I often go to the rink to have some friendly play.

I used to do a lot of wrist curls. It is the best thing you can do for your shot. 3 times a week, several sets of low reps. It will build forearms like Scott Stevens (New Jersey Devils). I don't know about COC grippers for hockey but I do strap holds and singles on #2 and I'm very close to the #3.