Just getting started

Guest mikebyoung

Guest mikebyoung

I guess I am just introducing myself. I am a complete novice and may be pestering some of you for information.

I am 37, never really lifted wieghts,always been the skinny guy getting sand kicked in his face.

I have been a plumber/pipe-fitter for the past 12 years.

A close friend showed me his new C.O.C.#1 grippers. He had been working with them for a few weeks or so. He asked me to try it. I picked it up and mashed it 6 times. He was impressed,I don't know if this was impressive or not. He lent me John Brookfield's book. I read it that night.

I was instantly hooked.

Now,three weeks later I have built a training routine for myself.

I can close the #2 (not easily), I use a 2" wrist roller, I train with a pinch block, and this weekend added  8 pound sledgehammers. (No way I can lever these things yet...training with an axe I have)

Hope I haven't bored you with my long newbie post. I am just very excited to find this place.

Guest baldy

Hello Mike, glad to have you aboard. Your occupation lends itself well to grip training, since you are always handling / twisting pipes of different ODs. That is probably why you are starting with a strong base. Also, you having access to various pipes will help when you build different grip tools (thick bars and farmer's walk implements are easily built from pipe).

Sounds like you are on the right track with the movements you have chosen (crushing / pinching / wrist roller / levering). Read all you can and check out other people's workout logs for ideas on new movements.

Most importantly, have fun with it. Set goals for yourself and then meet them.

Guest mikebyoung

Thanks,Tim.

As for setting goals...what would be a reasonable timeframe for shutting the #3 after just shutting the #2?

I know there are alot of variables here. But if one was serious about his training...what should he shoot for?

Welcome Mike,