New To Bending

Ish

Hey all. I have decided to start bending. I have been reading some on here and went to home depot to pick up some 3/16" round bars. I bought some and I got a 6"x6" pad at a craft store, and I started bending. I cut a few pieces of the round at 6" and 5" and wrapped the leather around it, and it bent pretty easy. I just have a few questions if you could help. First, am I just supposed to wrap the steel competely with the pad, or just each end? Is that size pad too big to use? I'm not sure if I should cut the pad down to a smaller size and use less of it. And if the 3/16 seems easy, should I do some more reps with it, or buy some thicker stuff? Also, I just wrapped the steel up like a burrito like someone said in a thread, and I guess bent it double overhand. Is that correct? Sorry I'm a newb at this, but it's pretty fun, and I'd like to make sure I'm going in the right direction.

First thing read the pinned topics at the top of this section. It has some of the best info around. Also I highly recommend the E-Book on bending. Well worth the $. No you want a space in between your pads.

If you are bending Hot Rolled Steel, try the same lengths with Cold Rolled Steel, or try square stock of the same diameter.

with the pads i would say use two one for each end leaving a small gap in the middle also wrap it as tight as possible. and the steel i would move up to either 3/16 square or 1/4 round

Ish: Here are a few suggestions that will hopefully help.

If you only have one 6"x6" pad, cut it in half or get another one

Is the pad leather or what kind of material is it? The pads I use are approximately 11"x3" double layer denim. Hard to roll tight.

Put the steel about half way into the wrap, or whatever is comfortable, and wrap it up as tightly as possible. Pictures in the article below.

I would move up to 3/16" square. In my opinion there isn't much difference between 3/16" HRS and CRS.