Humbled By The Blob

gottabend

Gentlemen,

Had to share with you my latest grip experience.

Since becoming afflicted with gripperism (aka grip addiction) late last year, I've been training with block weights. Couldn't find any Yorks so made due with the hex jobs. I still recall my first attempt at the 25's in the farmer's walk. Got half way across the yard and the left fell. Made it all the way before dropping my right. Couldn't break 'em off the ground after that. :-)

Nowadays, the 25's feel like nothing. I hold them for time with my pinkie and thumb. My next blocks were cut from an 80lber. I graduated this weight by strapping on 1.25 and 2.5lb plates. I've been over the 60lb mark for some months now and have been itching to get my mitts on an authentic Blob. Saw Dave's post on the board last Friday and snagged one. Got it Monday. Now I've gotta be honest fellas, I was secretly confident that I'd chalk up and deadlift this thing - no problem.

Well... guess what? I was lucky to break it a couple of inches off the ground. What a humbling experience! The width of the 50lb Blob is very close to that of my hex 40 so it's not width - it's the flare. To those who haven't held one of these things, there's a huge difference. I wasn't disappointed, just surprised - challenged. I've got a new target and I'm gunning for it.

When the postal worker delivered it, said package weight closer to 60lbs. Haven't weighed it yet but "feels" heavier than 50. Anyone know how much variance there were in these?

My York Blob weighs a little over 52#.

If you got it a couple inches off the ground on your first try, that's pretty good in my book. You'll own the thing soon. The one I'm using now (owned by anson) weighs just over 52# also.

My 47.5 pounder weighed in at 50