How Do I Build Volume?

Justin Reagan

About every other bending workout I bend 1 IM blue towards the beginning, after just 2 or 3 warm-up pieces. Afterwards, I do a few easier bends, but I definitely can't ever get close to doing another blue. My hands and wrists are so toasted that I'd be lucky to kink a yellow. What do you guys suggest that I do to build up to doing more blues? My goal right now is to bend a blue without it feeling like a 100% max effort.

What's bad is that I'm almost totally out of my IM bars, and I still haven't found anywhere to buy cheap steel. Buying CRS at the hardware store would be about the same price as ordering more from ironmind.

I did slightly kink a G5 today, though. The bend IS there. You just have to look closely.

Thanks,

Justin Reagan

Justin,

How often are you bending and how long have you been bending for?

Whilst I’m no expert I’m happy to relate how I’ve been able to increase my volume on 6” G5s from 2-3 to 5-6 in around 6 weeks.

Firstly, I bend twice a week. Sunday is pure bending, whilst Wednesday is mostly sledge levering (front, back, sides & “flicks”) with 4-5 target bends thrown in.

No more than 2 warm-up bends per session and I rarely do more than 8 bends in a workout (currently reviewing this though). Bend #3 is always my target (in this case a G5) and I keep going with these until I reckon the next one is probably beyond me (sounds wimpy- but remember I’m bending twice a week). At that point I pull back to something a little easier (ie. ¼” CRS) for a further bend or 2.

The reason I’ve been able to progress is undoubtedly the sledge work. Apart from the upfront cost, using a sledge costs $0 and is a great way of conditioning for higher volume.

Recording your workouts (ie. Sets, reps, how far down the handle your gripping the sledge) is the way to go. It’s then easy to make the workouts progressive.