Bending question

Nathan Say

I told a guy at work about John Brookfield bending that crescent wrench & he said that it's amazing (IMO it belongs in the Liar's Club with all the rest of his feats  :p ), but there's a trick to it. He said that just bending across a 'line' (line of symmetry I guess) is harder thaan twisting it as well because the force is concentrated on a point. My experience with physics, if it matters, is really limited (even though I'm a math student), is that guy onto something? He doesn't look like he's done anything physical all his life, so I wasn't sure whether I should believe him, but he knew the trick to tearing a phonebook, so it made me think. Of course if it would work on a crescent wrench, it would work on any other sort of flat piece of metal.

Yes, it is easier to bend a wrench "in a line" than twist it.  But easier is a relative term.  It is also easier to lift the Inch dumbbell compared to the Millennium bell!  Both are hard.  

There is no proper comparison to phone book ripping.  There is no "trick" in bending a wrench.  Ask him to show you ;)  Better yet, ask him to show you a phone book tear since he mentioned that (use at least a 2" phone book).  I've had people tell me the trick of ripping a phone book, but they've never actually tried and can't do it when they do.  Even after breaking the binding for them I have found the average guy can't do it.  I even had a guy who couldn't finish off a phone book that was only 3/4" thick.

Oh, and one last thing, I estimate that it would take over 500 pounds of force to bend an adjustable wrench.  Let your armchair physicists duplicate that!  You could actually test it yourself.  Take a wrench and put it below a smith machine bar.  Put 500 pounds on the bar. Grab both sides and lift the smith machine bar using the wrench as a handle.  I think it would probably withstand this, but you might have a hard time holding on.