To Set Or Not To Set, That Is The Question

rfirment

A little about me first:

I just started grip training about a month ago after finding the IM site and seeing the grippers. I got the Trainer and found it respectable. I then ordered the #1 a few days later. After two weeks I was doing sets of 8 with the #1. I then ordered the #2 and #3 was wowed by their size. I can now close the #2 for 8 reps. I am about 1/2" away with the #3. As a test, I put one handle of the #3 in a vise and had my full weight pressing down on the other and almost closed it. I weigh 275 so it seems that this gripper is pretty close to the advertised 280. I am following the IM rules on setting. I don't have any weightlifting or sports background and have never been one with good gym strength (bench is 220) and workout rarely, need to start though. I have always had above average "practical" strength. I quickly found that training my grip every 3 days works for me.

As a newbie I was unclear of exactly what a "set" involved. I saw a thread about the new IM certification rules that allows very little setting and how upset many people were about this. One video I saw was a slow, no-set close of a #3, which was very impressive. After seeing some other videos of closings I was surprised to see how far it was acceptable to use your other hand in setting the gripper.

I don't mean to be disrespectful but it seems to me that this is cheating. Either you can close it with one hand or not. I understand that closing last inch or so still requires great strength. My closest analogy would be that when benchpressing you are not allowed to have help in lowering the weight. I am a rookie at this but that is my impression on the subject.

Please don't flame me too hard. :)

Age 40

Ht. 6'6"

Wt. 275

Hand 8/3/4

Edited by rfirment

Welcome to the board!

A new member comes on here and posts on a very controversial subject in their very first post.