new to the Grip Page

Rick Walker

Hello.  I was looking through the Sorinex page and i noticed he mentioned a grip page.  Since I am fairly new to working my grip I decided to go to a search engine and search for a grip forum.  I dont know if this was the page he was refering to but this looks like a good place to talk about my new found love and get new ideas.

I am an ex-powerlifter that has decided to drop the canvas and denim and get into strongman type training.  I dont have hopes for ESPN or anything but i would like to compete in contests throughout the USA.  I started training with a routine I got from Jason Keen-I have read and re-read Kubik's book and take some of my training from him.  I also purchased John Brookfield's book, Mastery of Hand Strength, and I have begun training my grip 3 times a week.

Right now I do the following:

Tuesday

1. COCs

2. Thick bar (2.5) deads (1-arm)

3. Pinch grip (plates)

4. Thick wrist roller

Thursday

1. Plier hold

2. pinch grip wrist curls

3. baseball

4. hang from pullup bars with towels

Sunday

1. double hammer squeeze

2. lever lift

3. 1 arm deads with barbell and towel

4. pinch a 3 pound standard weight flat with a chain and weight running through it.

I will change every month or so 2 different exercises but i will always keep COCs, Thick bar, and plate pinch in.

Some goals by Jan. 1st-2003

1. Close #3 COC

2. hoist Thomas Inch replica

3. pinch grip 2-45s.

Some of these goals I am close to some I am far away.

Thnaks for listening-

Rick Walker

:hehe

Solid routine Rick. You'll have tremendous results with it.

How is your pinching and what do you do on the #3 ?

Welcome aboard and feel free to ask.

Welcome, read all you can and good luck with your goals.

Tou-