Metal Bending

paul valpreda

I have been a serious grip trainer for some time now and I have never practiced bending nails or anything. I have recently gained an interest in bending objects. I think my interest was sparked when I found a bolt at work and bent the ends together. I don't know what the dimensions or the grade of the bolt were. Anyway, I experienced the thrill of overpowering metal and I would like to pursue it more seriously, even though the bolt I conquered was probably a wimpy one!

My question to all of you bending experts on the GripPage is this; what types of exercises, sets/reps, or routines do you recommend to seriously strengthen your bending abilities? I currently perform grip workouts that include pinch gripping, plate curls, CoC grippers, Hardy Handshake and the Telegraph Key. I'm going to buy some nails to bend as well. Any suggestions that would help to greatly increase my bending strength would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,

paul

Paul, it's great to hear of your interest in bending steel!

I use 3 different bending techniques-each  technique uses different muscles. You'll want to develop those muscles that compliment your bending technique. Typically, these include wrist, forearm, and pecs. I prefer to bend using just my hands and without any kind of bracing. The best exercise that I've found to strengthen the muscles that I use for bending steel is to...well, just bend steel!:)