Gpp For Hand/grip?

zztoadstoolzz

Hello grip enthusiasts,

I have a question on grip training, but first I will give some background on myself. I am a college student in the U.S. I play the piano. I like researching and trying grip strengthening methods; I’ve tried kettlebells, clubbells, thick bar deadlifts, CoC, plate curls. Despite these methods, I would rate my hand strength at “average”. Now, if I could raise my hand strength from “average” to “just above average,” I would be very content.

I have found training to be more effective when I just focus on one or two methods. Each additional method vies for attention and resources and can even detract from the rest.

Currently I am doing weighted-sled dragging GPP. That is my one tool for almost everything. I’m hoping that most people have heard of GPP whether it be sled dragging, sledge hammering, functional lifting, etc.

As for hand strength, my grip tool of choice is a 12 lb, 4 ½ foot long, 2 ½ inch thick, steel pipe. With this pipe, I usually grab it in the middle and do figure eights (wrist), or grab it near one end (with both hands) and lift it. I’ve chosen this method over CoC grippers because they work both the wrist and the fingers.

My question: Is there such a thing as hand/grip GPP? If you could use only one grip tool which would you use? What are some methods that helped set the foundation for your hand strength?

Sorry, but I'm not sure what gripp GPP is.

As for foundation exercises, my favorite is farmers holds with a softball.

GPP is General Physical Preparedness. It is bascially the ablility to do a large volume of work without getting exausted. Manual laborers would have a large GPP from working all day. Bruce Lee talked about a similar thing, and he recommended walking places, parking your car far away to make yourself walk, taking the stairs etc.