Bending After Age 45?

Hubgeezer

I have been doing grip for 5 years now. having started at age 45. I purchased IM's Bag of Nails 3 years ago, and would pull out a white nail every 6 months, fail, and set it aside. Clay Edgin gave me a 15 minute lesson, and I managed to bend a timber tie. A month later, he gave my 23 year old son 15 minutes of instruction. Last night my son and I went to Michael's, purchased some overpriced suede, and my son, all 5 ft 9 inches and 7 1/2 inch hands of him, was easily bending yellows. I just about destroyed my elbow putting a tiny wrinkle in a white. I have 50 pounds on him on the Rolling Thunder, 3/4's of a gripper on him, larger hands, etc, etc. He has been a mechanic for 2 years, so there is obviously functional strength there. My elbow is killing me, and there are women on this board bending nails.

All of this for the question: does anyone know of an older person that took up bending after age 45? I can go to a doctor, but I would imagine they believe that everyone on this board is insane. There is Brookfield, Dennis Rogers, but these guys have been at it a long time. Should I let it go and accept defeat, as I am risking injury, or should I just take it slower and strengthen the tendons first? I have avoided excercises that put pressure on the elbows, as that seems to be the body part that is the most tender when it comes to exercise. I'd like to know if you know of over 45's that took it up, or if I just have to accept that I will never grow to be half the nailman my son is...Hubgeezer

That would be a good poll to ask, the age people were when they started bending. It's 35 for me and I have the feeling I'm toward the upper end but not sure.