Reusable Bending Nail?

GordonV

Sorry this post is so long, I blame my profession. :rolleyes

I am new to dedicated grip training as well as the GripBoard. I have not even touched a set of grippers since the late ‘80s. The grippers then were unproductive pieces of junk. After 40 or 50 reps, you could make your hand hurt and forearm burn, but there was no real strength gain. Now, my COCs are in the mail and I am just starting to incorporate grip training into my workouts.

While the above may serve as background, it is not really related to my post. I have been reading various sites on bending with great interest (Bender’s, Duty’s & Black’s to name a few). Is seems like a huge amount of guesswork, trial and error, and shopping to get bending materials. Then once the material has been obtained, it may have to be cut to length, then wrapped and then bent. Once bent it is thrown in a jar or in the trash. The only way to practice bending technique is to bend.

What occurs to me is there is no “gripper” for bending. Is there a reason that a “reusable nail” would not work?

Picture if you will, a gripper but instead of having the handles orientated in a “V” or inverted “V” they would be set on the spring in a straight line. The spring would be in the center and each of the handles would radiate out in a straight line from the center.

HECK, IM or PDA could probably implement this with minimal additional effort. The main wire would need to be bent a bit less to accommodate handle placement. The handles would probably need to be shortened or adjustable to accommodate common bending stock sizes. These “benders” could be made in progression like COC or SOS grippers. Working toward the IM red would probably be much easier if one were able to “standardize” the approach.

Granted the bending practice would not be perfectly transferable because of hand placement (due to the spring) but it seems to make more sense than spending $30 on a box of timber ties for warm-ups.