Starting to bend. Where to buy cheap stuff?

Sino_

So I am a noob to bending but I would like to start trying to train for a bit. Can I get a hold of equipment somehow that is a bit cheaper than the competition stuff? 

I am new to this so I wonder how other people with small amounts of money start out doing this? Just buying regular nails/spikes in hardware stores or something like that?

Or how can I get started with this without ruining my already small wallet?

When buying nails and after they have been bent, are these nails now wasted? And do I then need to buy new ones? Or how does that work? Are there nails I can buy that can be bent multiple times without spoiling?

Maybe there are some other cheap materials people use to get the strength to bend? Also I wonder what types of gloves, towels(if any) should be used between the hands and nails.

Also, a recommendation for a thread from a veteran that recommends training programs, volumes, tips and progressions would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Edited by Sino_
  • Like 2

I'm sure some more knowledgeable people will respond but what I found was going to an actual steel retailer and buying lengths of stock as long as I could fit in my van.  Then take it home and cut it to the lengths you want to bend.  Buy a good pair of bolt cutters - angle grinder - chop saw etc.  When starting I'd buy some leather pads - Iron Mind pads later on maybe.  Depending how strong you are 3/16 square, 1/4" hot roll or cold roll round will probably get you started.  Once you can do 1/4" round x 6" you can buy 60d nails - start with spirals maybe.  About the only thing you can do with bent stock is "snap" it like David Horne does.  I think most people just throw all the bent stuff in a bucket.  Good Luck

• Like 3

Bending isn’t cheap. Best thing to do is find a supplier buy bulk. It’s important support guys like Cannon and EatChalkGetBig, David Horne and others though. I’ll make a more helpful post later when I’m home.