Is training wide pinch necessary for a well rounded grip? (Joint pain)

DevilErik

Hey guys I started training wide pinch a few months ago I use a 45 pound hex dumbbell with bands hooked over it.

I started developing pain in the joint closest to my hand so I quit wide pinching all together.

Most people swear by block weights and say that it is one of the best things you can do for overall hand strength. 

Are they absolutely necessary in order for me to develop a well rounded grip?

I really don't want to develop chronic joint pain.

Thanks in advance,

Erik

• Like 1

give it a rest for a couple weeks, then try it again. A couple times i've gotten to carried away and ended up upsetting something in my hands or wrists...

• Like 1

4 minutes ago, Blacksmith513 said:

give it a rest for a couple weeks, then try it again. A couple times i've gotten to carried away and ended up upsetting something in my hands or wrists...

I am going to train with my homemade pinch block and a pony clamp for a few weeks then and see what happens. Hopefully my thumb joint won't hurt the next time I try it.

It's not so much about block weights or not, you have probably overtrained it and got joint paint from that. I have gotten that from time to time. Most of the times I just continue training things that doesn't hurt. But you can definitely try resting also.

• Like 1

8 minutes ago, Lennix said:

It's not so much about block weights or not, you have probably overtrained it and got joint paint from that. I have gotten that from time to time. Most of the times I just continue training things that doesn't hurt. But you can definitely try resting also.

I only do like 4-6 singles for wide pinch maybe I should do 3 or less and just do "normal" width for my other volume

2 minutes ago, DevilErik said:

I only do like 4-6 singles for wide pinch maybe I should do 3 or less and just do "normal" width for my other volume