Gripper Training Advice

Evan Raftopoulos

Hey guys, I started training with gripppers a few weeks ago and now I'm about 12-14mm to clossing CoC 2.5 (measured with CoC key). It seems that I'm lacking the 4-5th finger stregth to get it done. I have the CoC 2 which I can close and I'm waiting for the GHP 5 and Super Master in the mail. I watched Paul Knight's video on youtube on how to set a gripper which helped a lot. I try to do isometric/end range holds, partial/ end range reps with the 1.5 and 2, and negatives with 2 and 2.5. Any other recommendations on how to close your challange gripper or develop 4-5 finger end range of motion strength? I have the 2 finger gripper imtug5 which I cannot fully close with 4-5 fingers yet, but I'm not sure if it's helping for closing the regular grippers. Last question, I train with grippers every single day (yes, I'm addicted). In your opinion/experience, do you think this is not optimal for strenght gains? Thank you in advance, I'm so happy to be here.

Edited by Evan Raftopoulos
  • Like 1

Strap holds is what I recommend at this point. Also, start working your thumb strength as well via dynamic thumb exercises such as clamp thumb closes.

• Like 1

thank you for the recommendations!

I have the CoC silver bullet but haven't tried just strap holds. It makes sense.

what is the theory behind strengthening the thumb?

Evan

Hey there!

Stop training every day, or you will hurt yourself soon and must be without grippers for few weeks, what is very hard.

Like Wannagrip said try strap holds and clamp closes.

J.

• Like 1

Hey there!

Stop training every day, or you will hurt yourself soon and must be without grippers for few weeks, what is very hard.

thanks for the advice!

thank you for the recommendations!

I have the CoC silver bullet but haven't tried just strap holds. It makes sense.

what is the theory behind strengthening the thumb?

Evan