Making the CoC's more comfortable

Guest Sebenza

Guest Sebenza

Many of you veterans have probably already found a solution (like callouses!), but if you are just starting out, like me, this may help.

I work in healthcare so my hands don't get very roughed up.  When I work in the yard I'm usually wearing leather gloves.

I found that working with my CoC T was limited to the amount of pain I could take from the sharp checkering on the handles, not how tired my forearms got.  Not wanting to wait until calluses appeared before I could really work the Trainer I took a diamond knife sharpener and very very lightly brushed the checkering.  This took off the sharp tops of the checkering.  However, it still leaves it with a very tough and secure gripping surface.  In fact, I can tell no difference in its grip.  It just doesn't hurt anymore, even though it still feels rough enough to cause callouses.

I'm sure a file would do the same job, just be sure to do it very lightly.  You can't put back what you've taken off.

• 3 months later...
Guest badkarma67

hey sebenza..my beef builder did the same thing..so instead of permanently altering it..i just bought a 99 cent roll of athletic tape at wal mart....one wrap per handle and it`s toned down enough to allow callousing but not murder on my hands

• 1 month later...

Here's my 2 cents on the sharp checkering, otherwise known on this forum as "knurling" - on those grippers.

I HATE IT!!  I hate sharp knurling, and I always have.  There are some on this board that say that your hands will "get used to it".  How can you get used to pain?!?  Forget it!  I tried all sorts of things, but what worked for me is this:  go to any hardware store (like Home Depot), and get those foam rubber sanding blocks with light grit.  Then sand down the gripper to your liking!  No more sharp knurling, and no more pain.  Now life is wonderful again!  :)

Guest kINGPIN