Pinch grip question

Jason Paul

I just read Nick's tips on pinch gripping. Very informative, good info! I'm still new to grip training and don't have a lot of grip tools (just a gripper, but I won't talk about that, I promise!). I'd like to train my pinch grip more, but I have a few problems.

Right now the only thing available for me to pinch (one handed) is weight plates. I can use two 10-lb. plates, but I can hold them for over a minute. I'd like a little more weight. I tried pinching a 25-lb. and a 2.5-lb., but couldn't get it to work. I can't get plates of different sizes to work for me. They slide around too much.

My question is: If I use two 25-lb. plates and pinch them with both hands, out in front of my body, will that be as effective as pinching the weight in each hand at my sides? Does that make sense?

By pinching with both hands on one unit of weight, will I be developing lopsided strength due to my dominant hand taking the majority of the weight, or anything like that?

Would I be better off just building some sort of pinching block out of wood, rope/chain, and an eyehook or somehthing?

Thanks for any input.

Jason

Guest JD79

Jason, I take it from your question that you can't quite get two 25s yet.  Thats cool, this stuff takes time.  I have made a pinch block out of wood that is the same width as a pair of 45s sandwiched together.  My theory was that if I could get 90lbs on this block then I should be able to get two 45s, a goal of mine.  So I suggest getting some woood, cutting it to whatever width you want, and putting in an eye hook.  Then you can laod the block to whatever poundage you want.

JD

alternate idea: take 2 wood but ideally steel blocks each the width of a 45lb plate, and join together with a 3ft small gauge chain. set it up so you can easily detach the chain from one of the blocks.

now thread a weight onto the chain, reattach it to the second block and pinch lift the 2 blocks together with one hand.