Help a beginner

Guest rspector

Guest rspector

Hi everyone,

It's my first time here, so go easy on me.  

My grip sucks.  Always has.  I have very small forearms - an average untrained man has bigger forearms than me - and they are out of proportion to the rest of me (5'10", 225lbs now).  

I've been working really hard on the Hammer gripper machine, but now my gym doesn't have it anymore.  

I don't have any of the cool grip toys I see you guys talk about.  What can I do in an "average" gym that has regular bbs and dbs?  

I have seen mention of plate curls - is that a good start?  

I'm thinking about plate curls and just heavy bar holds.

Please let me know what you think.  BTW, how long is the minimum time to hold a heavy bar?

Tks,

Rob

Guest JSallee

First welcome to the board.  There are a lot of exercises that you can do in a moderatly equipped gym.  

For starters I would recomend pull ups, without any kind of strap or grip aid.  

You can also do wrist curls both foward and reverse with DB's and a  bar.  Let the weight roll down your fingers and then start to curl it back up.  I have also found that the muscles stretch a little better if these are done with the arm extended, as apposed to in a full curl or flexed at the elbow.  

You could do bar holds.  With an Olympic bar, load on a low rack and hold from the end.  I would say that if you can't hold it for an eight count, you should go lighter.  Others may disagree.

You could pinch two ten lbs. plates with the smooth side out.  To work on your "pinch" grip.  

Just a few ideas.  Hope this helps.  I am sure there are others that will chime in here pretty soon.

rspector,