"new" On The Board & Last Two Mm With #2

Guest veganlifter

Guest veganlifter

Hello board,

After lurking here for a few months I finally coupled all my courage to make my very first post! I joined this board after it was mentioned at www.muscletalk.co.uk where i post with the same nick.

I'm a grip newbie, and fairly new to strength training in general. Only about 6 months ago I was poncyiung around the gym doing isolation exercises and routines from Flex sporting lifting gloves, lifting belt and straps. After good advice from muscletalk i started compound only routine, ditched the gloves, belt and straps and got into strength training. I got exited about grip training soon afterwards as well.

This board is exellent, and the feats you gurus do are amazing. Maybe one day i'll be joining your ranks, meawhile though, i'd like to ask advice for getting past my gripper "plateau". I'm only about 2mm from closing #2. I've reached that about a month ago, but still just can't squeeze the gripper shut! very frustrating!

Other grip work i do is static holds, plate curls and other wrist work, rolling thunder work and plate pinching - but as i said i'm quite new in this.

Glad to be on board!

Welcome.

Try using your off hand to cheat the gripper closed, then remove your off hand and hold the gripper closed. Also, Look in the Grip FAQ section and read the article on strap holds. They are phenomenal for increasing your closing power. Good Luck and Good training!

Guest veganlifter

Cheers macronan,

funny thing is, even though i can get to 2mm away from close i can't hold the gripper shut even with a cheat hold - it shots right out, usually further away than say 5mm.

I think the reason for this might be that i never used to have #1 at all, just jumped into training with #2 directly, so my sweep might be ok, but the hold part sucks arse.

I'll get into strapholds properly, i've tried them twice with my friends #1 and managed 12.5 kg.