Block Lifting

anson

i'm new to all this, and from the research i've done i know how important block or blob lifting if for developing hand strength. so i was thinking of buy all these hex DBs and hacking em up, but(i'm poor!) then it occured to me- why not take the DBs i already have and just turn em 90 degrees(on end) and lift em like that? i tried it with my 35lb hex and it's very hard for me! i can only hold it for 1-2 seconds in my strong hand. i guess part of what makes it hard is the width- it's 4.75 inches across, i think i have pretty average sized hands at 7.75 inches. has anyone else tried this? today was my first day and i can already feel something going on deep down in my hands. but it still seems weird to me that this is such a great developer of hand strength because it is basically a static hold. when i think of exercises that build real strength i always think movement, different muscles working together(squats, DLs, BP), can anyone explain this? also starting out what kind of sets/reps should i be trying for?

Anson

There are some photos in the gallery of people lifting block weights by the faces. It's easier for some people that lifing it the regular way (not for me though).

If $'s tight pinch 'em on end till you save a few bucks. A Block is nicer because as you get stronger you can do harder exercizes: Toss, Cleans, snatch, etc....

Blocks are probably one of the best strength developers for the hand because it pretty much is the only exercize which works every aspect of the hand. (except for extensors of course, but this can't be helped.) Thick bar is probably a close second because thick bars don't hammer the thumbs like blocks do.

Also, blocks are more helpful (overall) because it is WIDE pinching. Regular/narrow pinching isolates the thumbs, but will not necessarily have the same strengthing effects on the hand overall. Blocks vary in width, so your hand is being trained in various positions.