Dumbbell rows for grip strength

Dimitar Nenkov

Hi everyone! I am new to the this forum and decided to create a topic regarding one of my favorite exercises-dumbbell rowing. I was wondering whether some of you use this exercise as part of their grip training regimen. Recently I started doing the following workout: dumbbell rowing using 70 kg dumbbell, making 1 rep every 20 sec for a total of 80 reps in approximately 27 min. My bodyweight is 70 kg. What is your opinion about this type of workout? 

• Like 1

My opinion:

Dumbbell rows are an excellent exercise and it's best done without lifting straps. Regardless of what your intentions are you will get much better result using your grip strength when rowing.

I would change it up, I wouldn't go heavy every session etc. Just like I would with any exercise, variation is good.

I think they are a great exercise for the upper body and grip. Doing them on a thick bar would be even better for grip. Ive just bought a 2" thick loadable Db handle what im going to use for rows. 

As for doing 80 single reps 20 seconds apart. Ive never tried it but its seems a good way to get lots of volume in a short period of time. 

Edited by mcalpine1986

33 minutes ago, mcalpine1986 said:

I think they are a great exercise for the upper body and grip. Doing them on a thick bar would be even better for grip. Ive just bought a 2" thick loadable Db handle what im going to use for rows. 

As for doing 80 single reps 20 seconds apart. Ive never tried it but its seems a good way to get lots of volume in a short period of time. 

Could you tell me where did you buy the handle from? I am looking to buy such

• Like 1

Just now, Dimitar Nenkov said:

Could you tell me where did you buy the handle from? I am looking to buy such

It was from Mirafit here in the Uk. They do international shipping. Its very high quality and price wise i thought very good. I have recent pictures of it in my workout log. 

33 minutes ago, mcalpine1986 said: