Hard Squats/Deads For Grip Routine

Luke Whippo

My avatar is recent and I'm wearing GGC 2005 contest shirt.

So after just training moderately for several years I finally am making some progress and this isn't a routine that will help me in obscure grip feats, but this mainly for general forearm and grip strength. Lately I find that doing higher rep squats before DO deads helps me grip the bar.

I'm going to post up my training starting from April and will try to update every week.

Here we go......... 

• Like 1

I've been training one day a week for the last 1.5 years.

Saturday 3/30/19

I've been starting with dead lifts for over 6 months, time for something different, I started with squats last week at 230lb and 260x12

Today,

Squat rack was free, ah heck I'll start light 135lb x5

225 x 2

245 x 2

270 x 10, 290 x1 paused in the bottom for 3 count, 300x1 paused for 2 count.

Dead lift-

295x1 double overhand grip.

305x2 DO grip

315x3 DO grip

325x3 DO grip

335x1 DO grip

355x1 mixed grip (called it a day on those, 2-weeks prior was my heavy day)

clean and press-

135lb x2 presses

140x2 presses (old style Olympic press, back arched)

Barbell power/cheat curls 115lb x8 (smoked).

4/6/19

Squat 185x2 (cold)

225x2

255x1

275x11

Dead lift-

295 x1 Double overhand (no hook) DO

305 x2 DO

320 x2 DO

330 x3 DO nice!

350 x1 DO hard

365 x1 mixed grip, switched hands x1 mixed grip (very, very easy) 1st rep flew up, form felt perfect, flat back stayed on heels, leaned back bar very close to legs.

Barbell clean and press-

140 x2 presses

145 x1 x1 presses (old style Olympic press, arched back)

Power/cheat barbell curls (45lb bar, real deal)

115 x1

120 x6 (killer)

125 x4 (more killer)

I walked in and a guy was already squatting, I waited till 225lb was on the bar.......

225 x2
225x2
Here we go mother.........