Cupid's Nightmare - Feb 16, 2019

Jedd Johnson

We will be running a Grip Contest on Saturday, 2/16/19.  Cupid's Nightmare

We just couldn't make US Nationals happen this year due to multiple factors.

Events:

Silver Bullet

2 3/8" One Hand Nightmare (6")

Blockbuster Pinch (lockout)

2" Napalm's Nightmare (6")

Little Big Horn (lockout)

More details to come. 

I will pursue official sanctioning soon.

• Like 6

I have never done a grip contest before. Are there things like novice divisions or is everyone just thrown together? I haven't used any of the implements and just wouldn't want to slow down the flow of the contest by not knowing anything.

• Like 2

5 minutes ago, BigRedDoc said:

I have never done a grip contest before. Are there things like novice divisions or is everyone just thrown together? I haven't used any of the implements and just wouldn't want to slow down the flow of the contest by not knowing anything.

There's typically time initially for warm ups and practice with implements,  and plenty of people will offer up advice and tips for newcomers. Nobody is too new to start, all you need is hands.

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

4 minutes ago, Climber028 said:

There's typically time initially for warm ups and practice with implements,  and plenty of people will offer up advice and tips for newcomers. Nobody is too new to start, all you need is hands.

Thanks for the reply. I may have to sign up when the details are revealed.

• Like 1

51 minutes ago, BigRedDoc said:

Thanks for the reply. I may have to sign up when the details are revealed.

Besides what @Climber028 said, the veteran competitors are also all super helpful with figuring out the lifts. At the first contest I went to, the guy who set the world record on the Ironmind Hub tried to show me the optimal technique on it.

Where are you located, if you want to share? We can probably find someone near you who has some implements, or at least point you toward some technique videos.

• Like 1