Overcrushes vs BTR Training?

Onerepman

I'm still a noob so can someone explain the benefit of overcrushes? Also between BTR and overcrushes, which of these is more likely to lead to progression in grippers?

Finally, is it advisable to do both at the same time? 

Personally in the beginning I don’t think doing either is a necessity. I did very high volume, lots of overcrushes and negatives in the beginning of my gripper training. I don’t believe it helped, in fact I got injured due to overtraining. In my opinion focusing on heavy singles, doubles and triples a couple times a week is sufficient. 

• Like 2

5 hours ago, Boulderbrew said:

In my opinion focusing on heavy singles, doubles and triples a couple times a week is sufficient. 

I agree with this, but would add that I don’t see any reason not to do the reps on a BTR gripper. I still believe that is the single-most effective thing that built my high-end crush. 

Overcrushes and negatives make my joints hurt.  But if done correctly and sparingly have their place in advanced training. The biggest mistake I feel is that people choose too heavy of a gripper. After you force it shut, if it pops open more than a couple millimeters..it’s too heavy.  Again, my opinion. 

Finally, like Tommy said, practice the set you’ll be using. 

• Like 2

Yes for sure wait with OC until your hands are conditioned for really hard gripper training. I would probably train with just reps for at least 6 months before doing them. It's very easy to injure your fingers and knuckles when doing OC and BTR.

I'm familiar with BTR. Was trying to find context clues so I don't sound silly asking, but oh well.

What is overcrush?

Just now, Tommy J. said:

Squeezing as hard as possible even after the gripper closes

Oh! Thanks, Tommy. I regularly practice a principle, and I didn't know the term for it. Go figure 😂

• Haha 1

7 hours ago, Tommy J. said: