2018 July - Hands of Doom - Hubgeezer

Hubgeezer

Hands of Doom: Best Contest, My Worst Results

There was an Armlifting USA contest on July 14 in Sacramento California, Hands of Doom. I received an email from RJ Strossen on July 5 if I was competing or attending. I think he lives about 60 miles away from Sacramento, and I live 175 miles away from there. I started my email with "No, I only started lifting weights again in May, did not lift in the first 4 plus months of 2018, I only started doing grip work at that time as well, but have been doing grippers seriously all along, but no, I don't think I am going". But by the time I finished the email I was "Let me email Riccardo find out about it, and my brother doesn't live too far from the venue, he would probably go, so yeah, I think I will look into it". I did email Riccardo, he told me he was stepping in at the last minute for announcer duty because Clay Edgin was not able to make it. 

Riccardo encouraged me to attend, but I don't think I told him "yep I am in". Got registered, got my USA Armlifting membership and tee shirt from Haugen in short order, and both Dr. Strossen and my brother were committed to attend. It sounded fun. I had not done any deadlifting in close to two years, and never touched two of the implements, but I figured with having had four Hub workouts in the previous month, plus good gripper strength, I would do fine on both on two events.