Thoughts and Ideas for Competition in Florida

Nigel Blackburn

Hello fellow grippers,

After looking at the general locations of most gripsport meets, I noticed that the Southeast region is criminally underrepresented. To grow the sport, I think it would be beneficial to cover as many areas as possible--not only to spread awareness of the sport, but also to give more opportunities and places to compete. The location would be in Tallahassee, Florida. Tallahassee is located in northern Florida, so it would also be very close to states such as Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, Louisiana, etc. I feel it is a solid central location to many highly populated areas and cities. Yes, the weather is hot and humid here, so I think the logical move would be to schedule the hypothetical competition somewhere around November-February. 

Admittedly, I am still very new to the sport and I would like to get more experience under my belt before hosting a competition. This is more of an idea at the moment, and I wanted to test the amount of interest. I'm fairly certain that I can get a good amount of locals to try it out and compete. I will try to advertise as much as possible and we'll see what happens!

Also, I have full support from a gym owner here (at Tallahassee Strength Club) to host a competition.

I would love to throw in events that are both visually appealing and easy to understand. The idea is to get new people interested!

Please feel free to offer your thoughts and opinions.

Thanks!

• Like 5

As long as I am available, I would plan to fly down from NY to attend.  My Dad lives in Lakeland so I would bundle it with a visit to him.

Ideas for events: 

-Euro 2HP, so you can get your record but also it is a great implement;

-Grippers, duh; probably 20mm although I'd love to see TNS or NS, but no one else likes that except for Joe Sullivan and me;