2018 June - NAGS Championship - Vinnie Rivellese

Vinnie

Jedd Johnson, Eric Roussin, and everyone who helped them deserve the gratitude of the 18 contestants and the spectators for hosting and producing a professional and successful event.  Thanks, guys and gals!

This was just my second comp, as I am new to grip sports, having started training in November at the young age of 48 1/2.  I am now a slightly more seasoned 49, so next year, at least as long as the Nationals are held after my April 27 birthday, I will  be able to compete directly against fellow 50+ Master Mike Rinderle.  Oh wait -- guess I would be better off staying in my weight class, because Mike will never drop to 83kg.  Oh wait, Dan Fleming.  I already asked him to put on a few pounds and he was a little cagey with me about that, so I guess all I can do is lose 20 pounds to hit the 74kg class, and hope Nigel "the kid" Blackburn does NOT gain weight and meet me there.

Those are three names of three super competitive, grip strong, good guys whom I had seen only in text on the grip board until yesterday.  Pleasure to meet you!  You are not the only three inspirations I met there, but you and the rest fit into this macho/geek hybrid sport where everyone is welcome as long as they like to squeeze and crush shit.  Or even just to watch us do that.

Then there is mighty Joe Sullivan, who came so close to winning his weight class even without knowing how to set a gripper.  Joe, I, too, have a problem with sets.  Chez has persuaded me to give it a go and see if I can up my numbers with some set practice.  I agree with you that there is something satisfying about TNS closing a gripper than some strong dudes can't close no matter what they do.  But, there are some strong dudes who can close monster bigger grippers than we can, and one of them insists that setting is part of that success.  I'm gonna give it a go.