2011 July - N.A.G.S.C - Brent Barbe

barbe705

Time for my ggc write.

Several weeks ago I jacked up my right ring finger at a highlander. I had to quit training and work rehab everyday so I could hopefully do something with it. It healed up pretty well and was almost 100%. Then the Tuesday before ggc I got a phone book tossed to me at the gym. Well, I had to tear it. It was probably an inch bigger than any phonebook I had torn to date. I got through it. In the car I realized I had re-injured my right hand. And injured my left. couple days of rehab before the comp.

Showing up my hands didn’t hurt but they did ache. Got on the elbow sleeves and gloves and started warming up. Every one started filing in and I was trying to remember names. I started playing with grippers to see where I should open. The Monday before I had tested at home. Right handed a 1.5 gave me some discomfort. And, I am a terrible block set closer. Going in I was hoping for a 150#. Working my way up I tried a 139#. I felt like a brick and I couldn’t be sure I had shut it.

First attempt was the 139#. It felt like nothing and all the sudden my hand wasn’t bothering me. I believe I went 139, 149, 159, and 164(miss). I was really shocked at how things turned around after the warmup and the little break for rules.

2hp. I think this may be the first time I’ve had to go first on 2hp with my thicker width. I played it safe since I hadn’t pinch in nearly 2 months. It didn’t feel especially good so I came in very early. I think it 215, 220, 230(miss), and 230(miss). Not at all happy with that but, I know I was way off my mark. So, while the lifts were bad I was happy that I had played it as smart as I had.