2007 December - A Gripmas Carol - foxyj75

foxyj75

My Gripmas experience-

Well, lets see... First of all, when I first arrived at Chris' gym, I was immediately greeted and offered handshakes by everyone I spoke to. Overall, a very warm and friendly group of guys. Chris made sure to let me know that I was welcome and to feel right at home. On the way there, I thought that I might be nervous, but that wasn't the case at all. I felt relaxed, but anxious about the comp.

Once the event started, I was pumped and ready to go. The grippers in chokers were up first. Now I am fairly new to the grip world, and although I have grippers at home, I honestly rarely train with them. So I was surprised when I was deciding what gripper to open with, I closed a #3! So when the contest started, on my first attempt, I figured I would go for the 143 gripper so as to at least be safe and get a baseline score for the event. It was my turn, so I put set the gripper in my hand, and squeezed, and WOW it was hard! I don't know if it wasn't set right or what, but I failed on that attempt. So, the next time I picked the 141 gripper and closed it easily. On my last attempt, I took a gamble and picked the 156.4 gripper(I don't remember what it was, a #3 I think), and closed it fairly easily. Overall, I was pleased with my performance in this event.